Uncategorized

Personal Message From The Assistant Editor

This weekend I have been having a rough time with remembrance and soul searching. I think that I have mentioned in other posts that I am an ex-service member.

I served in the United States Air Force from September 9, 1989 – until September 1, 1999.

One of the things that has been on my mind is the Oath of Enlistment that we all have to say.

Oath: a solemn promise, often invoking a divine witness, one’s future actions or behavior.

google.com

I took this Oath of Enlistment three times during the course of my ten years of service. The question that I am pondering today, “Was I released from my oath”?

Can you be released from an oath?

I feel that I am still held to this oath, as a solemn promise that I made the people of the United States.

“I, (state name of enlistee), do solemnly swear that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; and that I will obey the orders of the President of the United States and the orders of the officers appointed over me, according to regulations and the Uniform Code of Military Justice. So help me God.”

wikipedia.com

Today is a day that we remember those that have sacrificed their lives for their country. In all honesty, most gave their lives for the brothers and sisters around them, and duty to country was probably far from their minds.

Please take a moment out of your day and remember those that have given their lives so that others may live.

Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.

John 15:13, KJV

I am proud to have been a member of the United States military, I am honored by the sacrifices of those that serve today.

I often go out of my way to say “thank you” to someone that is in uniform, they honestly don’t hear it enough.

I am grateful to those that have gone before me, and that have paved the way for my family to live in a free nation. I know that I stand every day on the blood of patriots that willingly sacrificed for me.

Leave a Reply

